1st Ride of the Year

Yeah, it’s February. There were days in January that I could have ridden; but, my temperature tollerance range has narrowed at the cold end. So, today the forecast called for 60 degrees and some sun.

Just wanted a short ride and found a route I rode in January of 2023. Thermals; but, no heated gear.

Prior to leaveing the street, I road a couple of figure eights to resync the riding even though I did ride in December. All is good and within a few seconds I’d be blowing past the the ridiculous STOP sign at the end of the cul-de-sac.

Not far from the house, two fur missles are launched from my left side and are within about 15 meters when I’m aware of their presence. I gauged their impact to between my wheels. Quickly, the BEEP system fire button is located for a counter-measure. It has an immediate effect on one fur missle; and, the second slowed and alter its course. I escaped the attack!

Fire button for the BEEP counter-measure.

Roads are clear of debris, dry, and are in pretty good condition. Good riding through rolling hills. Looking around for good settings to stop and take pictures. Heading north on Barnes School Rd I drop down in elevation. This usually indicates a creek or river crossing ahead. That and the signs that warn about a flooded road. šŸ¤£

The West Fork Drakes Creek is ahead.

Just before the carry-down there’s a gravel lot on the left with a wood (ie government sign); so, I turn in to see what is there. It’s a parking lot for boaters. The sign offers free use of life preservers; but, the hooks are empty. Maybe not quite the boating season even though water flow is pretty good.

Ahead is the culvert crossing the West Fork Drakes Creek.

This water is coming from Tennesse and is the water source for Franklin, Kentucky.

After a couple of pictures are taken, I make a tight u-turn to exit the parking lot. The gravel is deep. Making the turn, I decide it might be better if I get off the seat and just as I start the stand, the front wheel sinks and begins to tuck. A quick reative foot-dab keeps me upright. The momentum I had started was now gone and the tire was kind of spinning. Traction control was too intervening and the engine stalled. A couple of toggles to a less intrusive traction control setting, and we are rolling again.

A quick stop on the culvert bridge for a photo.

West Fork Drakes Creek flowing towards Franklin.

The rest of the ride back to town, was uneventful. Still a good ride. No traffic to deal with for the most part.

Good for about an hour and half and 67 miles.

5 thoughts on “1st Ride of the Year

  1. Exciting ride!
    The fur missile attack, dangerous gravel roads, we’re glad you made it home in one piece. This promises a lot for the upcoming motorcycle season.

    Last week I also took two short rides, feels good to feel the wind on two wheels again.

    Like

  2. Exciting ride!The fur missile attack, dangerous gravel roads, we’re glad you made it home in one piece. This promises a lot for the upcoming motorcycle season.

    Last week I also took two short rides, feels good to feel the wind on two wheels again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Quite an adventurous ride, with the beaten off furry attack and the gravel-tuck. 2-0 for the AT. Nice to read and congrats with the first ride of the year.šŸ‘šŸ’Ŗ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment