A New Sign

Not a premonition or something from a card-reader. Heard about this new Sign in the news yesterday and immediately decided I need to go see it for myself.

Quickly nugged-out a route for the GPS. Noticing the crash site proximity to Land Between the Lakes, I figured I’d make a pass down the Trace. Last time I rode the Trace was March of 2022 with the Goldwing.

The route to the Sign would be direct and mostly US-68. Breezy and warming.

The Sign was easy to locate.

Nine soldiers of the 101st Airborne Division were killed in March of 2023.

After returning from the ride I made sure the Sign would be part of Google Maps.

The AT with the Sign!

From here, I continued on to Land Between the Lakes by hopping back onto US-68 and over the Cumberland River via the Lake Barkley Bridge.

Once on Land Between the Lakes, I am expecting to ride down the Trace; but, the GPS has something else in mind. Ok, I’ll make this left turn. Narrow road with no traffic. I like it!

Nice to get off the main roads!

Keeping an eye out for some colorful trees, most are still green.

Every now and then I see some bright red leaves–just need more of them. Within a few miles, I spot lots of red color.

Colors!

A couple of turns later and I spot a historical marker. Oh, cool! Drummer Boy!

Marker placed in 1966 by the Kentucky Historical Society.

Having recently read a book about the Theaters of the American Revolution, Land Between the Lakes would have been part of the western theater. Not so much about fighting the British; but, more of expansion and settlements to the west. Still, the marker is interesting.

At the bottom of the Trace is US-79 where the AT gets refueled and I get a Gatorade some some ghost pepper almonds!

From the gas stop, it’s about two hours to the house. Thought about stopping at Mid-South Motoplex in Clarksville; but, decided to keep going. I’ll go back another day as I spotted a Whattaburger just down the road from the shop!

About 214 miles today. Thanks for checking out the pics!

2 thoughts on “A New Sign

    1. It’s been really nice weather and things change a little starting today. Will all this good weather, the area is in varying degrees of drought. Did you notice the that Black Hawk on the sign should be two words? Hopefully the monument, once built, gets the spelling correct.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment