Madisonville, Kentucky

With the forecast temperature of 80 for today, I needed to go riding. This could be the last forecast in the 80’s for the year. Still, the morning is chilly in the mid-40’s; so, I wait a few hours for the air to warm. 60 degrees will do and that makes for about a 10am departure. Perfect for a nearly five hour ride.

Leaving the house and riding through the neighborhood, I notice the GPS is acting differently. It thinks I’m on a parallel road. Accuracy is not right. So, I start believing the satelitte signals are degraded given the situation in middle east. It’s possible as drones use these same satelitte timing signals for guidance and targeting. GPS navigation is still good enough for roads.

Riding through the narrow farm roads and heading northwest, I see hawks, vulchures, and wait! Two Bald Eagles! They fly overhead from right to left towards some trees. I have to turn around to see this. Now, I see three Bald Eagles! Just soaring above the trees about 75 feet in the air. Within a few minutes they are making their way back toward me. Cool, except the only camera I have is the cell phone.

After they drift overhead, I continue on my way.

My route takes me through Greenville, Kentucky. When I passed through here on my way to Central City back in early June, I stopped to take some photos of a memorial.

About five miles north of Greenville, I see an M1 Abrams tank on the side of the road. How cool is this? Got to get a picture. Lots of military signage for military convoys. Oh cool. After stopping next the tank, I see some Black Hawk helicopters across the highway. Oh, this is a National Guard training area.

M-1A1 Abrams tank.
First picture with the AT and an Abrams tank!

About 30 minute more riding and I’m in Madisonville and approaching the Veterans Memorial. I ride by it to figure out where to park the AT for a photo–then u-turn back.

Veterans Memorial in Madisonville, Kentucky.
SGT William P. Rudd memorial. KIA in northern Iraq while assigned to the 75th Ranger Battalion.

Very nice memorial for veterans–especially local vets.

On the way back and before leaving Madisonville, I stop for fuel, a break, and drink. Clean some bugs off the helmet shield too. With all the crop harvests, the bugs are just flying around. A good frost will take care of them!

On a narrow road, I notice a sign that states to stop for the tunnel. I see it. The tunnel is narrow and I want a picture. As soon as I got a few feet from the AT, I could hear a train on the track. Perfect timing!

After I finish taking the phots, I realize a couple of cars were waiting behind the AT. How cool is that. I waved them through.

That’s it. About 195 miles for the day and nearly five hours. Thanks for checking out the post.

2 thoughts on “Madisonville, Kentucky

  1. Surprising ride with the bald eagles and the tunnel train combo! The bald eagles are easy recognizable in the picture despite the distance. Real cool! On top of that the beautiful pic with AT and tank and the memorial. Nice late October ride. Thanks for taking us along!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment